Tags

, , ,

Apologies that, once again, I am a neglectful blogger.
I have spent the last week working between Preston and Carnforth and I have been forgetting to take my regular medication which has made me pretty horrendously poorly.
Anyway I am so crazily measuredly excited for my pending wedding which I can now confirm after two and a half years of engagement – is real! We have pretty much decided on our venue and date and although details are very much under wraps I feel fit to burst over it!
I have also been watching Les Misérables three billion times at the cinema. I, myself, as a musician find the film a fantastic adaptation of the musical, so true to the songs and the actors, even young Isabelle Allen who played young Cosette, poured all their grief and emotion into it.
Do you hear the people sing? Singing the song of angry men? It is the music of a people who will not be slaves again. When the beating of your heart echoes the beating of the drums, there is a life about to start when tomorrow comes.
There has always for me been some draw to the richness and intensity of vocal sounds, when voices melt and fade into each other, when people sing with such passion you can feel it just hearing it.
Partly that is why I am so drawn to musicals, choral recitals, group singing. I can’t really describe the feeling of hair raising when voices (whether you are singing with them) hit a chord together in harmony that seeps into your bones. I suppose that’s what some people may attribute to passion over something you love.
At the end of the day there’s another day dawning, and the sun in the morning is waiting to rise. At the end of the day you get nothing for nothing. Sitting flat on your arse doesn’t buy any bread. There are children back at home, and the children have got to be fed, and you’re lucky to be in a job and in a bed!

20130203-233413.jpg