Tags

, , , , , ,

Dear readers,

Let me first apologise for the lull in writing. I have gone back to work and my life currently consists of being too tired to do anything else when I get home except eat my tea, sometimes go for a workout and go to sleep. 

Scarily, we have reached the less than six months to go stage which, of course, is terribly exciting and petrifying in considerable quantities. 

I have spent quite a lot of time pondering things lately, my job as a locum means I spend an awful lot of time on my own in the car with just myself for company. I’ve found a comforting routine in my days, leaving the house to get in the car and catch Nick Grimshaw’s breakfast show while I drive to work, to arrive at work and eat my lunch at 12:15 most days, come home and listen to a playlist I’ve made on Spotify through my car’s bluetooth system. 

One journey I heard a song, that I hadn’t heard in a long time, one that I (and a previous boyfriend) particularly favoured in the midst of embarrassing teenage angst and self indulgence and I just wondered to myself, where has that time gone??

It’s strange, when you use things, you tend to be able to keep their shell or some kind of memory of it even if it’s disposable. For example, if you use up all the power in a battery, unless it’s re-usable, you could either throw it away or keep the empty zinc cylinder (whatever floats your boat). If you ate all the spread inside a limited edition jar of Nutella, you could wash it out and still keep it. 

When you use time, you have nothing particularly to hold on to. Photos maybe, or videos, but nothing to hold, or smell, or taste to show the hours and days gone by. When I was younger, I used to think that somewhere there was some kind of Argos catalogue of all the times that I had had in my life that I could rifle through and find particular instances of times in my life. 

Hearing the song in the car felt strange, because it took me back to a time in my life I completely forgot existed. I have barely any photos of that time because I’m just about old enough to say that I didn’t have a mobile phone that had a camera until later on in high school. Nine years ago I started high school and although the year was very eventful for me at that time in my young life, now I can barely recollect a specific time or instance or lesson. 

I’m not sure I completely know where my post is going. I don’t think there is a natural ending to this, because we all know, of course, that we simply don’t know where times go. I’m not saying it’s a good thing to live in the past, because it’s not, we should live in the here and now. 

So my advice from this post, as simple as it may be is - take photos. In my opinion, it’s a great opportunity to capture moments we want to hold on to for when the moment has gone.

I hope everyone has a great Sunday!

E x

 

p.s, check out this track called Good Times Gone by Nickelback. It was one of my favourite tracks of their album Silver Side Up (which I played until it was scratched beyond belief) and it kind of summarises my post!!! (He drops the S bomb in it – so be advised!!!) 

 

